When Trusting Is Hard

Definition of Trust – firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

It’s easy to say ” I trust”.

It’s a whole other story to live out the ” I trust”…

Friday evening my husband was “let go” from his job. It was only a short 6 months ago that we faced this very thing. He had worked for a company for 5 years and loved the people that he worked with and enjoyed his job. To make a long story short, the company was bought out and they laid quite a few people off. Scott was on that list. This now being the second job in 6 months he has lost has taken us on quite a ride.

I will admit that I was a bit shaken at first. I felt a bit fearful. As doubts and fears began to flood my mind I cried out to the Lord in prayer.

After laying my burden, my frustrations, my fears, my doubts, my anger, and all of my questions down at His feet….I turned to His Word for the renewing of my mind. I have been reading in the Book of Matthew, and I knew what portion of the scripture I was getting ready to read. I thought to myself “maybe I should look up some scriptures specifically about trust or faith to help me in my situation right now”, but as I opened the Bible, I opened up right where I had left off the time before.

trust

I have read this story multiple times, but not the way I read it today!

As I read verse 43 of chapter 27 in the Book of Matthew, I realized that trusting in God does not always look or feel like we think it should.

Jesus is hanging on the cross at this point, having been beaten and tattered and the people are mocking and saying “He trusted in God; let Him deliver Him now if He will have Him; for He said, ‘I am the Son of God!'”

Jesus fully trusted in God, knowing what He was able to do and how He was able to deliver Him. The people thought that if He trusted in God, that God should show up in some miraculous way. What they didn’t know was that His trust in God is what kept Him hanging on that cross.

I read on to verse 46 where Jesus cries out “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” Even Jesus had questions, He felt forsaken, He was forsaken at that moment…WOW!

In verse 50. He cries out again with a loud voice, and yielded up His spirit. Although He is crying out, questioning His Father “WHY have You forsaken me?”…yet, He yields His spirit.

cross

His situation had not changed. He was still in agony, hanging on a cruel cross, and bearing the weight of the sins of the world. In a time where His question had not been answered, His pain had not ceased and He chose to yield, chose to surrender. He chose to trust, even when it was hard!

Tomorrow morning, I will wake up and my husband still will not have a job (not yet anyway), our situation will not have changed, but the position of my spirit is this “I bow in surrender to whatever it is that you’re doing, Lord”. I choose to yield to You in all of life’s circumstances. Help me to walk in the foot steps of my Savior, Your Son. His journey was much harder than the one I’m walking and yet, He endured. He trusted. He was faithful to Your will in His life. Help me to seek You as He did in the Garden of Gethsemane instead of trying to figure it out on my own. Help me to yield to you even when I’m asking “have You forsaken me?” Even though this is hard, I choose to trust You!

Amen

One thought on “When Trusting Is Hard

Leave a Reply

