A Detour From God

A couple of weeks ago, on my way to take my son to his doctors appointment, I came across a detour.

I don’t know how you feel about detours, but I personally do not like them…at all!

One, because they usually take more time to get me to where I am going, and two, because it takes me on a route that I am unfamiliar with.

These things combined with the fact that I am one of those people who happen to be directionally challenged, the detour naturally spiked my frustration.

I didn’t think about why there was a detour, or what was going on that would have caused them to temporarily re-route me to my destination.

I just wanted to get to where I needed to be and not be inconvenienced.

detour

Today though, while reading in the book of Matthew, I read about a detour that was sent from heaven, straight from God.

Mary had given birth to the most important Baby in all the world and the enemy was using every tactic that he could to rid the world of Him.

Because King Herod did not know exactly where to find this Baby, who was such a threat to him, he commanded that every male child of the age 2 and under be killed.

Joseph though, had already been warned by God to take his family and flee.

Toward the end of the chapter, when Herod is dead, an angel of the Lord comes to Joseph in a dream saying “Arise, take the young Child and His mother, and go to the land of Israel for those who sought the young Child’s life are dead.”

Joseph arose, took them and went to the land of Israel…but when he hears that Herod’s son was reigning as king, he was afraid and turned and went to a city called Nazareth.

The very last verse of the chapter tells us that this detour was designed by God, Himself.

How, you ask? Read it with me.

And he came and dwelt in a city called Nazareth, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophets, “He shall be called a Nazarene.”

God had a plan for the lives of Joseph, Mary, and of course Jesus, long before that day had come.

He used the prophets years before they ever traveled, years before Jesus was even born, to prophecy this very thing, and He designed their detour to Nazareth so that this prophecy would come to pass.

Many times in my own life I get frustrated at any inconvenience and try to do everything in my own strength to stay the course…not realizing that the God who created me has created me with a plan for my life in mind.

He has already paved each path I should take, and has designed every detour with a purpose.

The next time things don’t seem to be going as planned and your life is heading a different way than you think it should…look to Him, seek His face, and listen for His voice, because it just might be a detour from God!

Leave a Reply

