God’s Voice In The Laundry

I have been overwhelmed by laundry since the birth of our first child. I don’t think I have ever completely caught up since then.

Needless to say, I am constantly doing laundry and today has been no different.

The fifth load of laundry is taking a soapy, sudsy ride in the washer as I type this post right now.

I wanted to quickly share how God spoke to me a couple of loads ago while folding and hanging the fresh batch of clean and crisp clothes.

I was on a roll folding and stacking and hanging, and then I pulled out my daughter’s little red dress and it felt damp in a small area. I ran my hands across it trying to spread it out to observe it a little better when I discovered that a small piece of thread was twisted around the middle of it. I tugged on the thin string and it broke immediately exposing the horrible wrinkles that it had left behind.

wrinkles

I started to feel a bit frustrated that this dress was ruining my laundry flow and went to throw it back into the dryer, but then it happened…

It wasn’t a booming, earth quaking experience. It was the still small voice of my Heavenly Father speaking to me…

that I would have for myself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish. (Ephesians 5:27)

Instantly I began searching myself. Oh my! What small thread have I allowed to cause wrinkles in my life? What tiny thing have I possibly looked over thinking that it’s just no big deal?

How many times has the Father had to throw me back into the “dryer of life”, expose me to the heat of trial or tribulation to rid me of the wrinkles?

This thread can represent many different things in each of our lives, but I wanted to share this today in hopes that it will encourage you to also examine your heart and remove any small “thread”that may be there.

To think that one thin, tiny thread could cause so many wrinkles…

thread

May we each seek to remove them from our lives for the glory of the One who lived a spotless life for us!

How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, cleanse your conscience from dead works to serve the living God? (Hebrews 9:14)

May God bless you today, my friends!

3 thoughts on “God’s Voice In The Laundry

Leave a Reply

