Starving Sisters

When we hear the word “starving”, there is an image that automatically pops into our minds. It is a picture of a pitiful person who is skin and bones, sickly and unhealthy. Starvation isn’t as common in the U.S. as it is in many other area’s of the world, but it is still a very sad, and real problem.

As important as this topic is, and definitely needs to be dealt with, this is not the sort of starvation that I am writing about today. The starvation that is a sad reality here in the wonderful land of plenty, is spiritual starvation. The saddest part about this problem is that there is no real reason for it. With Bibles laying around our homes and all over shelves in countless stores all across America, we choose to deprive our souls of the rich blessing of spiritual food.

Back in 2012, the LifeWay Research team surveyed more than 2,900 Protestant churchgoers and found that while 90 percent “desire to please and honor Jesus in all I do,” only 19 percent personally read the Bible every day.

“As we gather to worship week in and week out, we sense the hunger in our souls but often assume light refueling and refreshment will nourish us for the week ahead. Sadly, many of us would be better described as severely malnourished” says Jen Wilkin – Author of “Women of the Word”.

I know that this is a real problem for Christians as a whole, men and women alike. I am choosing to address the women today because my hope is that some of my “starving sisters” are encouraged to become “Women Of The Word” and begin nourishing their souls, as well as sharing spiritual food with others.

There was a time in my life, just a few short years ago actually, that I was content with hearing the Word preached or exhorted during Sunday service and very rarely opened my own Bible throughout the entire week. I would scramble through the Psalms when I was feeling low, or maybe read some of the Gospels when I was feeling a bit guilty, and at times I would just open the Bible and whatever page fell open I would read a few verses in hopes that it would be “the verse that I needed” for that day.

I couldn’t seem to get a grip on why I struggled to have the peace and joy that Christians are suppose to possess. I would pray quick prayers and count down the days to get to church again to get some sort of an encouragement. I did not realize that I was spiritually starving.

Imagine if we were to feed our physical bodies once or twice a week, or even three or four times a week. Oh my! We would look pitiful, and even more importantly we would feel terrible. When we allow our souls to be starved of the precious Word of God, we feel the effects of that choice, and do not be fooled….others can see it as well.

People know a happy, healthy Christian from a sad, starving one.

You will not be able to walk around in constant defeat, always weary about life when you are feasting on manna from Heaven. Don’t get me wrong, life will still happen! Trials will come and you will still walk through valleys, but because you will have read the scripture about the “Lily of that Valley”, you will trust that He is with you and hum praises until you reach the victorious mountain top again.

Since the day that I realized that I was a “starving sister”, I made the choice to do my best to be a “Woman of the Word” and allow God to mold me into the image of His Son through the Word of God. I’m tellin’ y’all, my life has changed! You will think different, feel different, and live different.

There are times that I don’t quite understand a passage and have to dig for a little more information, but the seeking is ALWAYS worth the find!

Jesus, himself said “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. 32 And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (John 8)

readit

I don’t claim to have great wisdom, I’m not a bible scholar or any sort of theologian. All I am is a sister who was starving, broken, and hungry…and all the while the food that my soul was needing was sitting on my bookshelf untouched.

How many of us would have a fridge full of food and sit on the couch and starve?

Not too many of us, I’m sure.

Don’t be content with only the food that other’s spoon feed you. It’s wonderful to sit and listen to great preachers, teachers and speakers. I love it!

But, please do not stop there! There is so much more!!!

God can and will reveal things to you in His Word. Put forth the effort of knowing Him through His Word and He will reveal Himself to you, it’s a promise. Jeremiah 29:13 says this “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.”

I challenge each of you sweet ladies to feast today!! Hold that precious gift in your hands, open the pages and seek Him there.

Your soul will never be truly satisfied until you do!

 And Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst. John 6:35

breadoflife

I HIGHLY recommend the book “Women of the Word” by Jen Wilkin

It will help you get a good start on how to read and study the Bible!

Leave a Reply

