I Give Myself Away, But Do I Really?

The other day while sitting at my piano, spending a little time in worship, I began to sing “I give myself away, so You can use me.”

I know this has been a very popular song in many churches, it is one of my favorites! I was about mid-way through the song when I felt a whisper in my heart, to stop and really think about what it was I was singing. Have you ever considered the lyrics?

I GIVE myself AWAY!

When we give something away, we are transferring possession or handing it over to someone else. It is no longer ours. We can no longer make the decisions about what is to be done with it.

A lot of the time, I have found myself singing about giving myself fully to God but then when it comes time to actually do it, I want to make my own decisions. I want to control what parts of my life get to be given to Him for use.

That song is beautiful and the meaning of it is even more beautiful, when we grasp what it is that we’re actually singing. It’s easy to sing about, but it’s not so easy to live out.

One of the hardest things I have ever done is sharing “Our Story” …the previous blog that my husband and I wrote together about how God healed our broken marriage.

So many times, I have sang that song to the Lord “I give myself away so You can use me” , but in my mind I was thinking “well, not that part of me, I don’t want anyone to know that.” But these are the parts that God will USE, if we let Him.

The parts that are hard to give to Him are the very parts of our lives that He wants!

If He can’t have ALL of us, He will take NONE of us!

So yes, many times I have sang “I give myself away”, but do I really?

Do we really give ourselves, when we refuse to allow Him to use ALL of us? Even the broken parts. I have learned that God uses broken people.

Just take a look…

broken

Yes, it is hard to give God the broken pieces of our lives for use. It’s easy to sing “my life is not my own, to You I belong” but it’s hard to mean it sometimes. A few days ago, when God spoke to my heart that it was time to share the testimony of how He moved in our marriage and lives, I was tempted to again say “not that part, God” because it’s hard to give those parts of my life to Him for use.

But today when I sing “I give myself away so You can use me”, I can look up and smile because I mean every word. My life is not my own, Lord, to YOU I belong, I give myself to You!

I encourage you today to give your whole self to the Lord. Let Him use Your life for His glory, it’s gonna be worth it!

igivemyself

1 Corinthians:20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

God Bless You, Friends!

3 thoughts on “I Give Myself Away, But Do I Really?

Leave a Reply

