The Christmas Controversy

 

It wasn’t until just a couple of years ago that I learned that

some Christians do not celebrate Christmas.

This came as a surprise to me

because I grew up in a family and a church that celebrated with no

controversy about it at all.

I have learned since then, a little about why some choose not

to celebrate and I respect their decision.

For our own family, we still choose to celebrate.

I will say though, that we have sought to learn more and we have changed some of the ways

that we choose to celebrate now.

Beginning new traditions with our own children,

for example…Advent, a beautiful time

leading up to Christmas day.

Keeping our focus on what CHRISTmas is truly suppose to be about!

I realize that no one knows the exact day that

our Savior was born and that there is also some controversy about

the date because the Pagans celebrated

their sun god

on that date as well.

Here is what I say to that…

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord!

( Joshua 24:15

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve;

whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood,

or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell:

but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.)

What better way to denounce a celebration

of a false god than to celebrate

the ONE TRUE GOD

on a day that the HE ALONE has made.

The main reason I choose to still celebrate is that

HE CAME!

He actually chose to come and save us!

What a beautiful thing

and definitely something worth celebrating!

Merry Christmas Everyone!

hecame

3 thoughts on “The Christmas Controversy

Leave a Reply

