Be Still My Soul

I love having a place to write about all the lovely things of life,

a place to look back and read through the

beautiful memories of this

messy life!

But

I also want to be authentic and real, that’s exactly why I chose

this title for my blog, because

Life indeed is a Beautiful Mess….

Today has been a bit more messy than beautiful but it will not stop me from

looking for the beauty!

If you’ve ever had a panic attack, you’re familiar with

the feeling that your heart just might leap right out of your chest,

that you may not be able to catch your next breath,

that your body is shaking and twitching uncontrollably,

your head is spinning and you feel helpless.

crash

As a young christian girl, I suffered many panic attacks and as a result,

I was consumed by guilt and shame.

I felt that if I could just believe strong enough for deliverance, if I could

somehow impress God with my great faith

that I would never have to experience another attack.

So many times people would say to me

“When things slow down you won’t be feeling so overwhelmed,

when your circumstances change, it will be different.”

Needless to say, I am now 30 years old and I’m living my “dream life.”

Here I am…

I have a godly husband who loves me and our 4 beautiful children,

a wonderful extended family, great friends

and a church family that we love dearly.

And once again , this morning I woke up with a pretty intense

panic attack.

I haven’t had one in so long and I was beginning to think I

was “over that phase.”

Guilt and shame started to creep in and I felt like I had failed God once again,

like my faith wasn’t big enough or strong enough,

but here’s what I am resting in today…

we face things in this life!

Whether it be a deadly disease, a genetic syndrome,

depression, anxiety

or even panic attacks….

God Is Still The Same!

(Malachi 3)

He is able to heal, He is able to restore,

He is able

 to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine.

Regardless of what we go through in this life,

we can hold to the promise

of His unchanging character, unconditional love

and undeserving grace in our lives.

Our circumstances may change, situations may change,

our health may change

but

He never does, never has and never will!

Yes, I may face the messiness of this life but that makes me even more grateful

for the beauty of His grace

in my life.

I’m not perfect, I do fail, my faith is tried

and my flesh is weak

and that is messy stuff my friend!

But here is the beautiful part…

He is perfect, He never fails, He is unchanging

and He is Almighty God!

Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him.

peace

3 thoughts on “Be Still My Soul

  1. Hi Rachael!
    I’m so sorry to hear about the panic attack. I have experienced them, and they are not fun. 😦 But it’s so encouraging to see how you turn your gaze back to God and look for His perspective on things!
    Also, I have nominated you for two awards for your blog! Please visit the below page if you would like to accept them–and thank you for your beautiful writing!
    http://crystalknauss.wordpress.com/2014/11/12/my-first-awards/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

