Who Am I

whoami

So,

Chuck E. Cheese has this deal that if any child

comes dressed in a costume, they receive 50 free tickets.

When we found out about this, all of our kiddos were so excited!

We were planning to have Caleb’s birthday party there this week

and so they decided that they would all dress up

to get the free tickets.

They began rummaging through the dress up tote to find something to wear.

Each of them came up to show us what they had chose.

One by one, they came to us

smiling ear to ear

and eager to show us what they were going to be for the night.

McKenna had transformed into

“Kenna Star” with fashionable glasses, scarf and hat.

Aubrey became “SpongeBob” and Caleb was a “Ninja Turtle.”

Caitlyn was last to approach us

and she was distraught. She had slipped on a black poodle skirt

but wasn’t satisfied and was very worried that others wouldn’t

know what she was suppose to be.

“Will they even know who I am Mom?”

No matter how much I tried to reassure her, she was worried that no one

would know who she was.

Right before leaving, she decided to change.

I thought to myself…

How many times have I allowed the opinions of others to determine who I am!

How many times have I questioned who I am because of the beliefs of others!

Too often!!

More often than I’d like to admit, I have allowed the opinions of others to determine

what I look like and at times, even what I act like.

It’s not always necessarily a bad thing…I have had some great influences

and I’m grateful for each of them.

Here’s the thing though…

we cannot allow others to shape who we are!

When it comes to the question

“Who am I?”

We must look to God and His Holy Word for the answer.

Here is a great link to help you get started:

https://bible.org/article/who-does-god-say-i-am

As we seek God’s Word and apply His truths to our lives, He will mold us and make

us into who He has created us to be.

We are created in His image and we each have a Beautiful Purpose

to fulfill in this life.

So,

Who Am I, you ask?

I Am HIS!

Heavenly Father,

I pray that You help each of us to look to You

to find our value and our worth.

Sometimes it is so hard to do

and it can be so much easier to look to the opinions of others

because we all want to feel accepted.

During those times especially

I pray that You remind us that we are already accepted by You,

Remind us that You love us and You long to shape us

into who You have called us to be.

On the days that we wonder

“Who Am I?”

Help us to remember that we are Yours!

Thank You Lord

for Your Undeserved Mercy, Your Amazing Grace, and Your Unconditional Love

toward us.

Amen

One thought on “Who Am I

Leave a Reply

