Our Homeschool Journey: The Beginning

“Technically”

this is our second year of homeschool.

Last year, 2 of our children were enrolled in an online public school

and our youngest was not yet school age.

Our oldest daughter started out in the online public school last year as well

but a series of events

led us to remove her and begin legitimately homeschooling her.

Thus, schooling at home had begun!

This year, however, we have prayerfully decided to

homeschool all 4 of our children.

I threw the “idea” back and forth for a couple of months.

My husband and I discussed it a lot and prayed about it even more!

Here’s the thing, every time I felt myself getting

close to saying

yes, let’s do it!”

I felt

gut-sick and dizzy…

you know the feeling you have when you’re at an

amusement park and your getting ready

to board

a crazy rollercoaster

and you’re excited but major nervous all at the same time!?

Yeah, I’d say that’s close to the feeling

I was experiencing.

I was completely overwhelmed at the idea of

schooling 4 children

who were all different ages and all in different grades.

Anyhow, after much prayer and begging God to help me…

Here we are!

homeschooldinner

(making our own burritos)

puppets

(story time with puppets)

flashcards

(sight word practice)

abcs

(learning to write the alphabet)

read1

(multiplication practice)

read2

(independent reading)

blogcomputer

(preschool games online)

kids

(some sibling love 😉 )

paint

(learning about fall with paint)

falltree

(fall art)

hands

(messy fun)

prints

Although I am thoroughly enjoying

our homeschool journey,

I still fight with doubts and fears almost daily.

I still feel that I am completely

inadequate for this awesome and overwhelming task

that is before me.

I still know that I will make mistakes

and some days will feel like

a total fail.

But here is the good news…

I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.

Philippians 4:13

His grace is sufficient for me: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.

2 Corinthians 12:9

9 thoughts on “Our Homeschool Journey: The Beginning

Leave a Reply

